news world

Breanna Stewart, Sylvia Fowles, A’ja Wilson, Sue Bird named co-captains of 2022 WNBA All-Star Game

The WNBA All-Star Game will feature four co-captains this year, the league announced Wednesday.

Seattle Storm forward Breanna Stewart will be paired with Minnesota Lynx center Sylvia Fowles, and Las Vegas Aces forward A’ja Wilson will captain alongside Storm guard Sue Bird. Both Fowles and Bird are playing in their final WNBA season.

Stewart leads the league with 21.8 points and 2.1 steals per game, and has helped Seattle win five of its last six after a 6-5 start. Wilson, the 2020 league MVP, has guided Las Vegas to a WNBA-best 13-3 record, averaging 18.4 points and a team-high 9.6 rebounds and 2.4 blocks per game.

Bird is making a record-extending 13th All-Star appearance, is the WNBA’s all-time assists leader (3,122) and holds the record for most games played (561). Fowles, a two-time WNBA champion and Finals MVP in 2015, was ruled out indefinitely earlier this month with a knee injury.

Rounding out the field of starters are Chicago Sky forward Candace Parker, Aces guards Kelsey Plum and Jackie Young, New York Liberty guard Sabrina Ionescu, Los Angeles Sparks guard Nneka Ogwumike and Connecticut Sun forward Jonquel Jones.

The 2022 WNBA All-Star Game is set for July 10 in Chicago, hosted by the defending champion Sky.

(Photo of Breanna Stewart: Stephen Brashear / USA Today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button